How to create a vertex position list

I’m a Sound Engineer by profession and I often have to use simulation software to design large arena sized Sound systems. The simulation software that is provided by the manufacturer is not able to import any file format other than a text file of polygon vertex points, in a particular format. I have workflow at the moment which usually starts with importing a DXF or DWG file and then generating polysurfaces of the useful features. The relevant layers of polysurfaces are then exported out of Rhino as an OBJ file. That OBJ file is then imported into Modo where I use a python script to extract the point positions of each polygon and save this resulting list as a text file that the Simulation software is able to import. In a ideal world I’d like to do all the scripting in one piece of software ( Rhino) which would save time when someone changes the design. Attached is an example text file which is then imported into the simulation software. I’m not a programmer and it took me a while to figure out the Python script for modo, the essence of which is as follows:

meshes = modo.Scene().items(itype='mesh')

for mesh in meshes:
    for polygon in mesh.geometry.polygons:
        f.write('"Label","{} {}"\n'.format(mesh.name, polygon.index))

for vertex in polygon.vertices:
            f.write('{},{},{}\n'.format(*vertex.position))
        f.write("\";\"\n")
f.close()

ExampleFile.txt (2.6 KB)

I’m sure this is something that can be achieved within Rhino or Grasshopper I just need a bit of direction.

Hey Colin,

have you ever opened a .obj file with the text editor when saved as ascii? you basically have the list complete already in there. a 5min work on excel would do fine I think.
Untitled

and another question. in this ideal world you describe, what exactly is automated? the point extraction?
can you provide an example file where the relevant layers are visible?
Ben