How to create a contoured rock wall

Hi,

I am trying to create a wall made out of stone that has a chiselled effect through contours. Here is a reference image, the effect I want to achieve is shown on the back wall.

:

I have made an attempt but haven’t got very far, I used the Point Charge and Field Line command in order to achieve different directions and widths between each contour. But I am now unsure of how to progress.

Grasshopper Script: Rock_Wall_Aesthetic_28_03_2021.gh (11.0 KB)

FWIW this looks like a DEM that’s been sliced up - I am new to Grasshopper but imagine you could use a grayscale height map to create geometry, and divide it vertically into sections (or rotate everything horizontally, if it’s on a wall).

That said, I think to get this effect is a matter of figuring out how to program natural erosion, which is a pretty big task to get this type of realistic geologic form.

1 Like

Hi,

Do you have an idea on how to make the rock wall, I understand achieving the erosion part maybe problematic.

Thanks

does simple slicing look too much simplistic?

Slicing.gh (14.3 KB)

Hi,

Thank you for the attempt, it’s further than I personally got and is a start. But unfortunately, it does look too simple compared to the image reference.

Hi Adam - sorry, just saw your response.
For what they’re showing, you’ll need to find a source for 3d topography data (perhaps NASA SRTM) but you may need to set up an account.

You could also use Heightfield - this is probably much easier and you can find or make a grayscale terrain (see below)

Again, I don’t have much experience with Grasshopper yet, but assume you would cap the Heightfield (seals the bottom) and then generate a number of slices through it, possibly with boolean intersections.(next image)

That slice then has two faces that could be extruded to create the “sliced” layers. (Bottom image)

I’m sure there’s a way to automate this…