How to close trimmed polysurface

Apologies. This must be a very basic question, but I’m fairly new to Rhino.

I’ve created a tube and given it thickness using OffsetSrf. I now need to trim the end but when I do, I end up with an open end. I need it closed so as to have a solid for 3D printing.

What is the best way of trimming so as to not have open ends please?

(Pascal Golay) #2

Hello- it depends… if you are trimming with a plane or surface/polysurface, try BooleanDifference rather than trim. Note the cutter’s surface normals must be pointing ‘outward’, towards the part to keep for this to work as you probably expect. Solid objects should always have outward pointing normals but open objects, even if only barely open, do not have an inside and outside- use the Dir command to change the direction on these.

Trimming with a curve you can in some cases use WireCut instead of trim- this works well if the trim is being projected through the object.

-Pascal

That’s great. Thank you.

I’m stuck again on this cutting thing. Sometimes one technique works, sometimes not. I’ve managed to get by with the rest of my model but now I have a case where nothing seems to work. I’ve tried all that you suggested but I keep on getting an open end. I’ve run both Check and Show Naked Edges commands on the object to cut and nothing seems wrong, but the various cutting techniques don’t work correctly.

Ideas?

(Wim Dekeyser) #5

Looks like the intersector is not finding a solution so you better send the file to McNeel for a check.

A few things you could try to get on though: explode the pipe part and see if trimming with the plane works. If not, run intersect on the two surfaces (the pipe surface and the plane) and try cutting with the resulting curve. Also check if the curve is a closed curve. If not you could try closing it manually.