How to choose between the multi-objective optimization plugins?

Can someone explain to me what are the main differences of the currently available multi-objective optimization plugins (Tunny, Opossum, and Wallacei)?

I read their documentations, but as a novice to this domain, I am now even more stumbled than when I started reading :wink: You’d almost need a PhD to understand it seems. So for me choosing one almost seems arbitrary.

Is there like a rule of thumb to choose one of them?
And how do you best select the machine learning algorithm (RBFMOpt, MACO, NSGA-2, etc…)

The context I want to use if for is a daylight simulation with multiple constraints.

Hi @crz_06,

Here you can find some nice examples of Lunchbox with good explanations and video tutorials.

and this one of crow gives a good explanation.

Hi @crz_06

I am a developer for Tunny.
First I will answer your last question.
Only Tunny supports optimizations with constraints among the plug-ins listed.

Next, regarding the algorithm to be used, I recommend using NSGA-2 when the objective function is more than 3 or when there are more than 10 variables.
NSGA-2 is a good first choice because it can be applied to a relatively wide range of methods. For that reason, Tunny, opossum, and Wallacei all support this algorithm.

Bayesian optimization in Tunny and RBFMOpt in Opossum are algorithms that may be able to find optimal solutions faster than NSGA-2 when the objective function and variables are smaller than the above.

Sorry the Tunny documentation is confusing. I will do my best to improve it.

4 Likes

@hiron do you have any examples that show optimization with constraints with Tunny? If so could you please share?

Hi @rolandoavillena1

Attached is a simple example of constrained optimization using Tunny.
Note that Tunny’s constraints include results that do not satisfy the constraints, as shown in the result image below.