How to automatically mirror when creating in Rhino 5?

Saw this video the other day:

And was wondering how to turn on the function that allows Rhino to mirror your “sketching” of one side as you work on the other? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!!

1 Like

Symmetry

Hi Andrew

History could be a way to do this.
Try Mirroring an object with History recording On. If you edit the original object, the Mirrored object with history is updated.

-Willem

Thanks for the responses! I have tried both of those suggestions, and I don’t see something similar to what is seen in the video I linked. I think it must be a different program. It is a neat feature that I wish Rhino had.

That can be achieved in Rhino with T-Splines

Can you elaborate what T-Splines are? I am still very new to Rhino! Thanks!!

I’m guessing the video you posted is Maya. It’s using polygon modelling, which is different than NURBS that Rhino uses.

T-Splines is a plugin that enables this king of modelling procedure while still delivering NURBS surfaces in the end.

http://www.tsplines.com/

Asking for real-time symmetry in basic Rhino makes little sense because (in general) Rhino’s way of modeling things is a different approach to freeform modelers.

A large portion of Rhino users make an object by laying out curves, constraints, or indicate key values. At the end of this “setup” process, the object is created, revolved, lofted, extruded, etc. If it’s not correct, we step back and make changes to the layout components.

Once you’re happy with the object or surface, Rhino’s Mirror or Array commands give you the freedom to play with symmetry of various sorts.

The setup/execution process of Rhino would hardly be considered “sketching” out an idea in 3D… at least not in comparison to freeform modelers.

Yes, Rhino has introduced the Gumball, but after some finger-twister sessions with the keyboard, it still doesn’t hold a candle to dedicated freeform modelers.