How to attach and join vertices/meshes together?

Hello there people. I am new to this software and may have the greenhorn questions coming up, although I am certain I will be very confident to do things on my own in the future. For now, until I design my beautiful 4 winged fighter jet I always dreamed of capable of brutally marauding the F22 Raptor in both physics and aesthetics. But before This pathway to extreme professionalism begins, I must ask this simple question:

How to attach and join vertices/meshes together?

I know some people have asked this, but my question is very specific with simplicity being the issue:
I have downloaded a barrel that has a tad bit smaller width and height than what I originally wanted, so I bought Rhino (an awesome software by the way) to do me miracles.

I also wish to print it out using a 3D printer so I will be using STL file format.

Here is the picture of the Barrel:

As you can see it’s a simple barrel that I wanted to print out using the 3D printer, I wanted to increase the you see in yellow color by 1 mm in width and height.

I had exploded the entire object and rejoined some of the meshes together to my liking, and then via the transform tab I used the EditBox and increased the inner barrel to 1 mm in both X and Y axis.

After successfully increasing the size, I rejoined all the meshes together,
Now here comes the tricky part:

Although I rejoined all the meshes together I came across something awfully weird:

To print the object, I use CURA from Ultimaker to do me the post-printing procedures. The software is very easy to use, and easily shows “voids” or empty spaces wherein if the printer prints out the object there would be a nasty gap or unfilled space.

Here is the Barrel in Cura without X rays on.

The x Ray shows the areas in which the barrel’s printing process is in jeopardy in red color : nasty gaps/empty space.

And then comes the tricky bit - again.