How get updateAsync response error information beyond the string description

I am just getting started with the ShapeDiver API (using viewer.shapediver.com/v2/2.23.0) and thought I would explore how it responds to invalid parameters conveyed via parameters.updateAsync. I want to be able to provide users of my custom UI with as much info as possible on their errors.

So I hacked the code to deliberately set a parameter to 42 (invalid), just to try out the S/D error responses. I see great information in the console, printed from LoggingMixin:73

[Error] ERROR.ApiImplementationV2.ParameterApi.updateAsync – “:” – “_parameterHandler.setMultipleParameterValues returned error”
Object
err: [{code: “value_reject”, msg: “Parameter value rejected”, data: 42}] (1)
params: [{id: “395b01e3-369f-4dba-b02a-aa35f4afee60”, plugin: “CommPlugin_1”, result: “value_reject”}] (1)
plugins: {}
token: {id: “h8o6cwqlvb”, serial: 1616423846822, payload: undefined, attributes: undefined}

But from JS, response.err.data object does not seem helpful.

[Error] error response err data
Error: [object Object]
ApiResponse$$module$src$api$v2$ApiResponse — ApiResponse.js:70
(anonymous function) — ApiResponse.js:99
e — ApiParameterImplementationV2.1.js:151
(anonymous function) — ApiParameterImplementationV2.1.js:171
Promise
(anonymous function) — ApiParameterImplementationV2.1.js:115
(anonymous function) — index.html:136
(anonymous function) (index.html:158)
promiseReactionJob

I suspect a “JS for Dummies” is in my future :slight_smile: but I have not figured out how to get more info out of response.err.data. Any tips welcome.

Forgot the code:

paramInput.onchange = function() {
let paramID = spec_id_to_param_id(spec.id);
let new_value = (this.value==0) ? 42 : this.value;
clg(‘param change’, this.id, this.value, new_value, spec.name);
api.parameters.updateAsync({
id: paramID,
value: new_value
}).then(
function(response) {
// here we could offer user errors for selections