How do I update a sphere radius with RhinoCommon?

I’m completely new to the Rhino SDK and trying to figure out how things work. I want to change the radius of an existing sphere and see the change on the display. This adds the sphere:

doc.Objects.AddSphere[sphere];
doc.Views.Redraw[];

Now I want to change its radius. This naive attempt doesn’t work, I suspect because the object in the document is not the sphere I supplied as an argument to AddSphere:

sphere.Radius = 2;
doc.Views.Redraw[];

AddSphere returns a Guid, which I’d guess I can use to get at the object whose radius I want to change. Can anyone fill me in or point me to an example?

Chris

Rhino does not have a spherical surface object. When you add a Rhino.Geometry.Sphere to the document, a surface of revolution is created from the Sphere - Sphere.ToRevSurface() - and that surface is added to the document in for form of a single-faced Rhino.Geometry.Brep object.

To modify Rhino objects, you must:

1. Get the object
  2. Get the object’s geometry
  3. Make a copy of the geometry
  4. Replace the object’s geometry by calling doc.Objects.Replace

By following these rules, undo and redo work for the end user.

Does this help?

1 Like

Yes, thanks, that helps a lot. Just one question: how do I retrieve the object from the Guid returned by AddSphere?

Try this:

Rhino.Geometry.Plane plane = Rhino.Geometry.Plane.WorldXY;
double radius = 5.0;
Rhino.Geometry.Sphere sphere = new Sphere(plane, radius);
System.Guid objectId = doc.Objects.AddSphere(sphere);
doc.Views.Redraw();

Thanks again, Dale. I’ve gotten that far, but I don’t know how to get from objectId to the object itself in step 1 in your first response. If I’m being very dense, don’t worry about it–I’ll figure it out.

Here is a full blown example you might want to review:

https://github.com/dalefugier/SampleCsCommands/blob/master/SampleCsModifySphereRadius.cs

1 Like