How can I do catenary curves between consecutively points?

Hi! I need catenary between this consecutively points. I made a pattern from this points for selecting “Point A” and “Point B”. But I couldn’t make serial catenary curves. I’m making this for creating a surface which is smooth transitions its peaks and pits. Like this:

Maybe my way is wrong, but I don’t know. I couldn’t handle it. Here is my documents:

growth deneme.3dm (113.4 KB)
Smooth Growth Curve Along Surface.gh (19.8 KB)

Thanks for your helps.

my take on this with kangaroo. There’s a bif room for improvement, it is nothing close, to be honest, but maybe you’ll find it usefull
Smooth Growth Curve Along Surface_dfytz.gh (53.4 KB)

3 Likes

I’m very appreicated for your work. Actually this is really close to what I want. Can I adjust stretchness of cloth-like surface and making smooth transitions of height from outer edges from center? I have never used mesh before :confused:

Can we make this surface with only Nurbs objects? Because I don’t know is converting mesh to Nurbs friendly to production.

And the additional question: Do you think will my way work?

Smooth Growth Curve Along Surface edited v0.gh (50.6 KB)

The idea is to turn it into mesh, then adjust the vertex position using the distance data from the curve.
The calculation may heavy.

7 Likes

kinda works, but far from what you would expect

Smooth Growth Curve Along Surface_dfytz_catenary.gh (39.4 KB)
maybe if you could find another way of creating surface from these curves at the end. Now you need very high resolution for it to work properly

2 Likes

Impressive, Li!

2 Likes

Ah yes! I’m very appreicated for this. This solution is very very close to what I need. I have never used mesh but I think we can make its depth smoothly increasing from the edges to the center with closest point.