Help on Live Sectioning- batch processing

Hello Everyone,

I am an medical student with little knowledge of C++ & 0 knowledge of 3d softwares. So gurus & experts please bear with me.

I need to know how to:-
convert STL file (or any other 3d format suited for this purpose) into a series of cross-section images, as in the case of live-sectioning, using scripting/programming.

To better understand my needs, take a look at this image.

Let us assume a vector V, perpendicular to which is the sectioning plane we need.
“v_co-ordinate” is the z co-ordinate of tail of V vector, origin by default
"v_angle" is angle of V from xy plane, 90 degree by default
"v_magnitude" is the distance along V vector at which the section plane must be plotted/obtained/read

I need guidance for writing something like this-

int split_3d_object(char *fileName, float v_magnitude, float v_co-ordinate=0, float v_angle=90)
    {    //fileName is name of source STL file

/*
         code to get a single cross section (in .jpg or any other format)
         & I can apply for loop, so don't bother with that :P
        */
     return 0;
    }

The output image should look something like this.
but it is extremely important that user can define orientation of sectioning plane.

I researched a little more & learned ways to automate live sectioning in CATIA, but I need to
do it via script for implementation purposes.
I am open to any programming language & any 3d software for getting this done.

(Menno Deij - van Rijswijk) #2

For some reason your image links do not work here.

(Dale Fugier) #3

What is “live sectioning?”

What will you do with the results of sectioning? When sectioning meshes, you are going to end up with one or more polylines…

You image attachments don’t work here either. A sample model might be nice (too)…

Here’s the link to the images

1. http://postimg.org/image/k2627c7a5/
  2. http://fullbodymriscan.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/Full-Body-MRI.jpg