Help: Basic Design from the experts

Hi there,

I need some general guidance from this wonderful community. I’m proposing a large scale sculpture that will be 3D printed. Right now, I’m designing and making the maquette using RHINO. Here are some questions for the community that I would love to have answered pre-design process to avoid realizing that I did this all wrong and won’t work. I’m an artist, not a designer, or architect and need some tips to avoid any heartaches later, please bear with me.

Here are my questions:

1.) The project site is in meters they want me to produce a maquette of the design. It’s always easier to scale down in rhino, correct? I was going to design the entire project in actual size (feet) then scale down smaller size (cm) for the maquette. Just making sure this is the best practice. I will be 3D printing the entire project and maquette and woul hate to have to redesign the entire piece. I want to make sure the files are close to perfect.

2.) I’m drawing out the site. Is there an option to draw a polygon with different angles? I’m not sure if I draw using lines then joining the entire component together. The plot is not a perfect rectangle.

3.) The totem like sculpture will have different thicknesses at certain points in it’s form. Is there a way to put on a measurement calculator of the entire object I am drawing out? Currently, I am using the linear dimension to measure but the more complex the design more tedious measure becomes. There must be a way of doing this that I don’t know and can see the measurements all the time. I have anxiety with math please don’t judge me. I’m wondering if there is a easier to see the size of the piece?

I’m using Rhino for mac. I hope I’m clear with these questions.

Thank you for any guidance.

It would be better to help if you could add a sketch of the sculpture and the location (“floor plan”).