Hello CAD world and a question about computer power

Hi People of the internet!

I’ve been designing and making for 22 years now, (I’m a wooden boatbuilder that strays into furniture and artwork). I’ve been proud of being “old school” and having it all in my head, with the odd few lines drawn on sheets of plywood when necessary, it’s what I have, and it’s worked.

Having chopped the end of my thumb off recently, due to an “old school” attitude to my machine guards, I’m a little less proud… It has however afforded me the opportunity to learn something new so I have chosen to learn a little about designing on a computer. I have always used Macs so gravitated towards Rhino as It was one of the few that seemed to work on this system. It’s great, my life has had a shift in trajectory and I’ll never go back. One very rookie question if I may…
I am running Rhino 6 perfectly well until it comes to Raytrace and rendering, I am using: MacBook Pro (13-inch, 2017, Two Thunderbolt 3 ports)
2.3 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5
8gb
Intel Iris plus graphics 640 1536 MB
Catalina 10.16.6

My question is whether this computer is not powerful enough to run Rhino properly, and if that is the case does it mean ideally using a more powerful machine? Or is it realistically possible to upgrade what I have somehow. I am moving toward building more sophisticated boats and would like to be able to design on the computer rather than on the loft floor and by eye.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

John.

www.instagram/johnjmcshea

1 Like

Hello
i think. you are the only one who can determine the power of your computers.
if you see that the computer crashes and must hang or it is slow … you must go for a powerful configuration

I’m going to change my computer to a more powerful one
.I encounter difficulties and crashes every time I work on large files.
mine and a Windows pc
i5 9300H 2.4 GHz
8 go ram
gtx 1050