Getting and setting object name in GHPython

Hi everyone,
I’m very new to Grasshopper/Rhino, trying to get my head around Python scripting for various bespoke workflows I am developing. In the code below I am comparing the User Dictionary values of two sets of breps. When two breps have matching User Dictionary values, I want to take the Object Name of the first brep, and apply it to the second brep. However, I’m confused, as while the Brep Class has a User Dictionary property, it doesn’t have an ObjectName property. And I can’t use rhinoscriptsyntax.ObjectName() function because I’m not dealing with the Rhino context at this point- all of these Breps only existing in Grasshopper, right?

I obviously don’t understand some fundamental stuff here around object types, interfacing with rhino syntax, and also around lists vs trees etc!

Any help much appreciated!

"""Matches up breps using User Dictionary id given by me, then takes the object names from one, applies to the other.
    Inputs:
        breps: breps without an object name set
        mat_breps: breps with an object name set
    Output:
        a: breps- with object name set to match mat_breps"""

import Rhino
import rhinoscriptsyntax as rs
import scriptcontext as sc

for i in breps:
    ref1=i.UserDictionary.GetString('ref')
    for j in mat_breps:
        ref2=j.UserDictionary.GetString('ref')
        if ref1==ref2:
            print("match")
            #Now get the object name from brep i, and set the object name of brep j to match.

a=breps

I think, you are missing the fact that usually the ‘RhinoObject’ is the class containing an ID, various meta-data (name, layer, colors…) and geometry (e.g. the actual BRep). The ‘RhinoObject’ is then part of the ‘RhinoDocument’. Using ‘Rhinoscriptsyntax’ directly within Rhino always deals with RhinoObjects. This is fundamental different to Grasshopper. In Grasshopper, you only create and modify raw geometry (“Rhino.Geometry”).