Getting a Job with Rhino

I’ve been using Rhino for about five years now, and was wondering just how one finds employment as a Rhino user(!) I see almost no opportunities in the help wanted ads near my very large west coast southern California city. I DO see many ads seeking AutoCAD users, or SolidWorks users. I can’t help wondering, am I banking on the wrong 3D-CAD software? I just don’t see how one can afford to be a pro at all the major CAD packages. I’d have to sell my house in order to purchase all these programs! Are there users on this Forum who might share a success story in regards to their professional Rhino careers to give me a ray of hope that I too might one day find a paycheck at the end of my Rhino studies?

:laughing:

unfortunately not far from the truth. even plain learning a software in a payed course is sometimes more expensive than the software itself… its a pricy metier. one thing you can do is to try to convince them that there can be a workflow between the software, but that also failed me once on an interview applying where Autocad was required. i do know Autocad, at least enough to make some drawings, its not very different from Rhino though, but having a bit experience in any of the required systems is never wrong.

but you should ask generally, getting a job with any CAD solution you work with… you just have to be versatile enough. there are companies which work with rhino but its a dynamic process and you cant just wait till you find that needle in the hay stack.

Did you look here:
http://www2.mcneel.com/rhinojobs/jobs.asp

Hello,

Do you have a current portfolio of the work you’ve done? Photos and videos of your work can demonstrate your modeling and design skills. I’ve used a variety of software packages including Rhino to design and model for manufacturing. To date I haven’t experienced a manufacturer or client that wasn’t happy getting their CAD in a fairly common format like IGES or STEP.