Form-Fitting Connections between two Meshes

Hello,
I have limited experience with Rhino, Python Scripting for Rhino and Grasshopper, and hope to get hints in the right direction for the following task I’m trying to automate:

Short description:
I want to geometrically interconnect two touching meshes across their complete common / touching surface areas. The example picture below should clearify how the result could look like.The cylinders with cones at the top are fused to the bottom mesh and have been cut out of the top mesh, to realize a form fit between the two parts.

Detailed description:
Given are two solid and arbitrarily complex meshes that touch with one or more parts of their surfaces, like in the example picture below:

The two objects need to be geometrically connected at the touching surfaces with some geometry like this:

ex2.1

Boundary conditions:

• The density in which the connection objects are placed on the surface should be configurable by the user
  • The height and position of the connection objects has to be adjusted in a way, that the connections are „invisible“ from the outside, meaning they can’t pierce the sides or the top of the mesh they connect to (see example picture below).

So far I have been able to extract all mesh faces of one mesh, that have their center points very close to the other mesh, but that does not really define the touching surface as a whole. Some mesh faces are only touching the other mesh partially and others are not extracted at all, as their center points are not touching the target mesh.

The following picture shows the mesh faces extracted from the bottom object:

The code used:
#!/usr/bin/env python
# -- coding: utf-8 --

import rhinoscriptsyntax as rs
import Rhino
import math

import scriptcontext as sc

rs.EnableRedraw(False)

# Minimal distance to define "touching"
MIN_DIST = 0.25 # mm

# User object selection
obj_a = rs.GetObject("Pick  the first Mesh-Object", rs.filter.mesh)