Footwear Modelling Tips and Tricks

Dear users,

I’m relatively new to working in the footwear industry, and I am trying to become accustomed to good methods and practice/order for sole construction. I feel like I’ve been through pretty much everything there is on YouTube.

One of the common roadblocks is trying to create organic surfaces that have at least some kind of dimensional control to them, rather than just eyeballing it. So the common order of work is using 2D designer drawing to get a floor/bottom curve which overshoots and creating a straight extrusion. Then creating the side walls using a thickness from the last and profiles, trimming it with the floor and applying a BlendEdge. Or another I recently found was doing a variable pipe/Sweep1 around the intersection of floor and sides, trimming away from floor/sides and then doing BlendSrf. Of course this is all done around a Last model + Upper substance.

I am trying to achieve something similar to the following: Surface modeling problems - so creating an outer surface which I can trim away from with very freeform projected curves. I’ve attached my example of a ‘base’ polysurface. Imagine that I am trying to create ‘raised zebra stripes’ that go along the bottom but also round off around the sides - So the best way seems to be the simple premise of an ‘A’ and ‘B’ surface. (Displacement is not an option here, I need to surface this).