Filleting edges, trimming, boolean split help

Hi, I’m new to Rhino and have been exposed to it for a few weeks. I’m working on model for my product design class and I’m having trouble making it come alive. This is what the physical model looks like:

Some more views just to clarify:
Top view

Side view

Front view

Back view

I started working on this model two weeks ago and since then I’ve been stuck. I’ll explain what I’ve done so far in Rhino.

1. I drew the front view cross section profile
  2. I drew the side view profile
  3. I disregarded the top view because after several hundred attempts it became too complicated for me to incorporate
  4. I extruded the front view curve and side view curve so that they intrsect.
  5. I then used the trim command to get rid of the excess extruded material
  6. I ended up with this:

I have tried using the boolean split command and I do not get a result.

I tried to fillet the edges but an error message pops up telling me there is a failure in bulding corners.

At this point, I’m not sure what to do and how to go about completing this thing. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I’ve attached the file for reference.

11:10.3dm (2.5 MB)

Depending on how picky you are about the sharpness of the profile, you could try point editing.

Fig 1. Perhaps something like this? Starting form an ellipsoid, using degree 5 and U=8 V=8 (set with the Rebuild command) :

// Rolf

another method would be to use the ‘PictureFrame’ command, create your curves from 3 views, then possibly use NetworkSurface command

FilletEdge seems to work for the tiny (.02) fillet that is in your file. You may have missed some of the edges
when selecting.

If you want larger fillets you will need to start with curves that have better continuity and don’t put small fillets in the convex corners of the construction curves because that will limit the size of the fillets that can wrap around those corners.