Fillet Edges Overlapping Problem for a Ring

fillet
unhandled

(Margaux Gripon) #1

Hello,

I’m a beginner at Rhino.
I’ve designed a shape that I made into a ring using the “Flow Along Surface” Command.
When trying to add fillets on the inside edges of the ring, they appear to be overlapping…

Can someone help me on this?
I’ve looked into the other posts but can’t find the same problem grr.

Many thanks for your time!
Margaux

Flow Along Surface Mystery.3dm (3.4 MB)

(Pascal Golay) #2

Hi Margaux - yeah… that is because the flowed object does not meet its self cleanly where is wraps around - I’ll see if I can make it work - there are two problems, I think - one is, along the curvy edge, the ends are not tangent where they wrap around to meet each other. The other is on flowing there is no good way to accurately maintain that tangency even if it is there to start with - it is fixable in a geeky sort of way - hold on a bit and I’ll post a file.

OK, so it looks like we can skip the geeky bit and just make the edges tangent - see the attached file -
At step 1 the red and blue curves are not tangent to each other - that means that when the edge of the solid version of this same shape will not be tangent to itself when it wraps around.
At step 2 I’ve used match for tangency on the two curves, Blue to red. So Blue is now tangent to its other end, so to speak.

Then when the thing is extruded and flowed, it meets cleanly where it wraps around and the fillet can handle it. Note step 5- I’ve extracted the end caps of the wrapped shape and then deleted them - these are internal to the solid and not needed.

I used Flow, with the Line option and Stretch=Yes and not FlowAlongSrf btw

Flow Along Surface Mystery_PG.3dm (208.6 KB)

-Pascal

(Margaux Gripon) #3

Thank you so much Pascal, it’s brilliant !

When desiging the curve in the first place, I used a line as a marker and activated intersection to make sure both ends where aligned on this line. It’s not accurate enough then?