Fillet Edge Inner Corner Problem

I am having an issue with an inner corner I do not know how to address. This model is a rudimentary divider. My slicer, Simplify3D does not like the inner corner to the right of the “1” tab and splits my model in two. I looked closely and the inner corner fillet seems to be the problem.

How do I make the fillet round this inner corner correctly?

Thanks,
Jerold
LanyardTemplate.3dm (2.6 MB)

The problem is the top and bottom flat surfaces are not one surface. That causes filletedge to fail.

Its pretty easy to fix. First extract the top and bottom surfaces and delete them. Then extract the 4 fillets and untriim the ends that are not complete. Then trim the ends to a 45 degree line and join and cap (see file)
fixFillets.3dm (354.8 KB)

Wow, I am very very new at Rhino and 3D modeling. I was tempted to respond with “can you hold my hand through these steps!”. Ultimately it was easy, but took me lots of trial and error time with each command.

This problem taught me how to ExtractSrf, Untrim, Trim, Join, and Cap. I exported to STL and Simplify3D slices the model correctly now.

With this solved, I decided to Extract the number, and recap the top. I am printing 12 of these dividers, with the tab shifting for each one. Looks like I need to create each model, with each requiring the steps you outlined above to fix this inner corner(s) issue. Guess I could have left the number. I just realized there isn’t a good way to just move the tab and save each iteration.

Jim, thank you very much for taking the time to steer me in the right direction!

Jerold

All of those are important tools to know if you want to become proficient with Rhino.

No you don’t need to do that. The issue is that your top and bottom surface were not one surface. If they had been one surface then FilletEdge would have been able to do the fillet all the way around. It is not hard to make this shape so that the top and bottom are one surface.