Files changing when I close and reopen them!

I’ve been using Rhino 5 for 2 years but I have no practical training, so I guess that I’m a noob.

I’m a marine fabricator and I create parts by importing DXF data, which was captured by either a laser or some sort of photogrammetry. Once I have that data, I do a series of offsets on it in order to create to parts that I need with seam allowances and such.

Lately I’ve noticed that although my parts are all being made perfect, when I close the file at the end of the day and reopen it the next day, my model is changing, curves and lines are moving.

So my employees are spending days assembling the stuff, only to find that now it doesn’t fit. Any ideas as to why this happens?

What are you comparing the opened .3dm files to? The model in the open .3dm file is different than what?

The changes are actually quite obvious. When I create the file, two curves will intersect… The following day, I’ll go to trim something, and on files that are closed and reopened the following day, the trim command fails every time.

When I zoom in, the lines are no longer intersecting, and when I look at the other end of the model, the line is now sticking out… indicating to me that it has shifted. I hope that makes sense.

Are you saving as a 3DM and exporting to DXF or are you only saving DXF files?

Mark

I’m saving as DXF because I send the files to a cutting machine afterwards, and that’s what it reads. I was originally getting some crazy distortions a few months back, and the McNeel guys told me that it was because I was making my offsets from… maybe nurbs curves? So they had me first convert my raw data, and that solved my issues.