Extrude Boundary Surface from Iris Dome Scissor Structure

Hello,

I’m pretty new to grasshopper. May I know how to extrude a boundary surface? I tried using Extrude but it does not seem to work.

I had intended for this grasshopper file to work like a camera aperture closing and opening for paper packaging applications.

• How to extrude boundary surface?
  • Can I make each of the surface tangent/perpendicular to the curve of the arc such that the surfaces will not cut into one another?

iris dome with joints.gh (97.5 KB)

(Apologies, I tried to internalise data but can’t seem to do it.)

I’d greatly appreciate any help and guidance on this topic. I have been referencing from this two links to build:
Kinetic Clock
Iris Dome

I don’t have all the add-ons you have, but maybe this will help some. What I did was make a 2D surface from your boundary curves and then extrude them. The extrude direction is any normal to each surface, so I used EvalSrf to find the normal. Since all the surfaces are planar all normals point in the same direction, so I used the corner point UV = (0,0) as the input to EvalSrf.
screenshot_01
Everything I did is at the lower right corner of the attached file.
iris dome with joints-bb1.gh (98.2 KB)

1 Like

Thank you Birk, that was immensely helpful! I learnt a lot :slight_smile:

With your help, I have progressed and am in the midst of incorporating the outer part of the packaging.

• How do I split the outer cover such that it’s a mirrored double door open packaging?

• I’ve added some spheres to suggest joints in the iris dome, but am not sure why the top few are missing.

• I am working towards as the “door” prise away to reveal the iris dome, it also opens the dome.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Much thanks!
iris dome.gh (101.8 KB)

double door box

Cheers,
Kianne

Well I just couldn’t help myself - so I tweaked your file to simplify it and make it fit on my screen. It seems to work very well: