Extrude 2 D picture , then curve to form bracelet

Hi

I am a completely rookie and will admit i have no clue what i am doing, can someone help me out.

I need to take a 2D picture (any picture) a cloud for example and do the following:

1. Extrude it to 18cm
  2. Curve it to be shaped into a cuff bracelet with a gap.

I have played around and tried to watch some tutorials but am not able to find exactly what i am looking for. I have to start with a 2D image and this can be any shape.

Can you post an image.

I am not sure what the 18cm is for. Is this a straight extrude then cut out? Like this …

«Randy

hi Ashley doesnt know :smile:

i assume you want the whole cloud as a cuff bracelet so i will explain how. if you want just a cloud engraved or implemented into a straight bracelet its similar just ask questions if you need.

first you load in a picture with PictureFrame type it into the console, it will autocomplete the word as you might find out pretty fast and hit space or enter to execute it then choose your picture you found or have created yourself and draw a frame in top view.

then simply draw a curve along it with the first 2 or the last of those symbols
you will figure the differences later on

each curve of the cloud can be drawn separately to get those sharp curves for example. most important is that the end points hit each other to create a closed curve. you can use commands like Join to glue them together or trim when parts overlay and extend when they are too short.

once you joined them to one solid curve together use Extrude with the option solid to give it a little thickness.

you can use Hide for the remaining curve that its not in the way or delete it if you never need it again or place it on an extra layer in case you work with complex files later thats the most common option.

after that you can still round the edges with FilletEdge if you want but this we can show you later.