Easiest approach for Biangulation in Rhino

Hi all,
I’m an beginner in Rhino and CAD in overall.
I know my way around drawing and modelling but that’s about it.

My current challange is to find the easiest way to create a drawing based on data of an AB measurement, I believe in good english it’s called a Biangular measurement.
This type of measurement is often used to recreate 2D drawings of larger objects as pools like in my example.
First of all the start by creating 2 fixed points near the object to measure, and measure the distance between these two points which is length AB.
They make marks around the pool every couple of centimeters or inches and measure the distance to this point from point A and from point B. Once all points have been measured the make circles with a radius A and B for each point and the location of the marks will be one of the 2 intersections of the 2 circles.

I’m able to recreate the shape in Rhino, creating 60 layers and using each layer to draw circles A and B of these points. Then place single points on these intersections and draw an interpolated line through these points to get the final shape.

I have the feeling i’m way overcomplicating things and that there must be an easier way to do this, maybe even with scripts or plugins. Unfortunately I have no clue about programming so I must rely on your knowledge.pooldata Pool AB measurement.dxf (2.3 MB)

Hi @n.vermeulen,

this should not be to hard to script, can you upload the the table you used to create your example file as a .csv?

Also it seems the position of the Pool in 3d Space is arbitrary, meaning it is just defined by the random placement of the two Points A and B with a fixed distance between that, is that right?

Please find the .csv attached, I hope it’s alright like this.
Indeed, position is like you describe arbitrary.
Last point will indicate from which value we start using the right intersection instead of the left intersection.