Display video stream from IP camera in component?

In Firefly there is a component that can display a video stream from my computer’s built-in web cam:

Is there a component that takes as input a URL and shows the output of an IP camera?

Note that, for now, I don’t want to process the data. I only want to show it. The URL as input parameter is important, as I want to have the option to programmatically change the camera from within Grasshopper.

If there is no such component: Is there a component that can show a web page? (aka webview)

Then I could simply set up a page that shows the stream.

Firefly might be worth a test, it has an image recog module, not sure about video though…

Thanks for the suggestion, but did you even read my question?

Hi Feklee, yes i did :slight_smile:

Sorry i dont have all the answers - im still learning GH…

from what i searched, out of curiosity, looks like you will need a custom script in GH (ph, c#, vb) + a custom component to display in the GH UI. I didn’t see any networking ops in the sdk or if you can use ph’s urllib library to get the url you want (but should be possible IMOHO).

https://www.codeproject.com/Articles/202464/How-to-use-a-WebCam-in-C-with-the-NET-Framework-4

etc. Just google to look for streaming from webcam and implement a custom form in your GH component.

1 Like

Creating a custom component is what I wanted to avoid, but I’ll try if I have to. At least I have a little bit practise with that now. Most of the components in my screenshot I created in the past week.

Thanks for the link. As I mentioned in my original post, a web view could be a good alternative. At least with Chrome, the stream from these IP cameras plays straight away. Of course that doesn’t mean that it works with the standard .NET web view.

Here I would like to have a link to a step by step guide. How does one create a custom form?

Or is there an example of a component with a custom UI?