Direction arrow causes naked edges in sweep 1

I am doing a simple “Sweep1” with a closed curve. When I do a “What”— I do not get a closed polysurface. I have tried moving the direction arrow, and, flipping directions. I always get naked edges where the arrow was placed. What am I missing?

Can you post the curves?

I have never tried to post a file before—hope this drag & drop works…

Example Panel.3dm (69.2 KB)

Well, I tried to open the file and it worked for me.

To see what I am talking about–just move the arrow around the closed curve. You will get, at least I do, a naked edge/s where ever the arrow is placed.

Thanks for responding…

Yeah, that looks like it’s a bit buggy to me… The “naked” edges are way within joining tolerance of each other. Running Explode/Join works to close the object. @pascal, one for the bug pile (fails in V6 as well)?

–Mitch

Needing to get the project on the way, and learning in the process. Attached is a file showing what will work and some thing that won’t.

So, I don’t know if this is a bug; however, all attempts to sweep a “Closed Curve failed”

See attached file…

Example Panel—Solutions—.3dm (6.7 MB)

Hi Joe - I’m not wild about rebuilding the arc-ish curve to 500 points and degree 1! Unless you need a dense polyline there for some reason. I’d spend a little time with that curve and draw it properly - I used an ArcBlend below and got it pretty much right on with a far simpler curve that has actual curvature rather then a teselated mock-curvature you get from a dense polyline, if you see what I mean.

-Pascal

Yeah, something is goofed up - Explode/Join on the result cleans up the nakeds but no idea yet why they show up to begin with.

http://mcneel.myjetbrains.com/youtrack/issue/RH-31509

-Pascal

Pascal, I’m not in favor of all the points either; however, I need to maintain the curve to “Offset” other lines. I sent this in a couple of weeks ago.

"Support,