Designing a curved baseplate for nano-mics

Hi everyone!
While I’m not new to design, I’m new to the amazing Rhino world, and quite puzzled by all the possible ways to do a same thing using different techniques.
It’s been around two weeks only that I’m working on something luthiers/instrument-builders usually do on paper… and we don’t ask ourselves if we’re going to add or remove (think of everything fitting within a rectangle, which is true for wood carving as well as Rhino).
There, I’ve got a very complex modular amplification system in the works on paper. Now I need to make it in Rhino so I can 3D print it over and over.
My issue is that I don’t know if there’s a better way than another to get a same result: a curved surface (in a square O shape) with moveable baseplates for each mic I want to be able to move sideways to adjust its position under a string, as well as being tilt-able to even better accommodate the situation…
It’s only a matter of putting real-world stuff in Rhino, and of using the result on real-world-sized (sub-millimeter) objects.
I’ve got a host of matrixes I could use to get 3D from 2D, but I fear it won’t be enough since there are extremely small and carefully designed parts including holes for nano-sized nuts and bolts…
Hmmm. It all boils down to: do I add or remove (trim) in order to get the complex shapes I need? It’s comparable to bridge industrial design, only much smaller.
What would you do?
I can not tell everything about my work since I don’t want my work to be “stolen” again for commercial uses (which is not the case for me). Feel free to ask for details, I’ll do what I can to explain more clearly if needed.
Thanks for your time and insight!

Hello - it is impossible to understand the shape you are describing in a useful way without an image or a starting point in a 3dm file.

-Pascal

1 Like

Oh snap! I had files attached to my initial message!