Creating cutting patterns for latex garments

Hi guys,

First of all I want to convey my level of understanding Rhino up to this date (so you dont expect too much from me)…
I studied the manual and got familiar with some basic commands and did some of the tutorials and just for fun tried to flatten a sphere but failed…

My (to be honest) unrealistic goals would be:

1. create a simple model of a human head
  2. introduce some seamlines onto it which minimize the stress in the flattening process
  3. finally flatten the head and produce some cutting patterns to work with

Can you give me some advice how to proceed? So far I am not at all really able to put seam lines on a sphere and flatten it. Currently I am trying to draw a human head but since it should be anatomically correct it is not really looking promising.

This is one of the most difficult questions to answer:" I am a new Rhino user. How do I draw a human head?"

1. Drawing human heads is pretty difficult with a pencil, never mind a NURBS modeler.
    You might start by searching online for a mesh model of a human head, and downloading it.There have been lots of human heads modeled with mesh modelers. Some are available for download for a price. Try http://www.turbosquid.com/3d-model/anatomy/head. Google “model a human head.” It might be worth your while to just get one of these. Modeling one takes a huge amount of time.There are many tutorials that should give you ideas. Rhino imports many mesh model formats.

2. You can introduce seam lines by using the Project command. You can do this by projecting lines onto meshes.

3. You can split the mesh with the SplitMeshWithCurve command. Flattening the mesh can be done with the Squish command.

All that said. I don’t expect you to be able to achieve very good results without a lot of expertise. You have chosen one of the most difficult tasks to accomplish using Rhino as your starting point.

Hi margaret,