Create 2nd Setup using remaining geometry in RhinoCAM? Or pause?

Hello,

I’m new to RhinoCAM, and I am using a Laguna Swift CNC router.

The Laguna controller is really built for single-tool operations, but I’ve found workarounds using Fusion360 to pause an operation between tools to do a manual tool change.

However, I can’t find a way to do this in RhinoCAM.

Ideally, I would simply create a 2nd setup using the remaining stock from the roughing operation. If there is a way to do this, I would love to hear it.

Alternatively, if there is a way to add in a manual pause in between operations, that would be great too. That is what I’ve done in Fusion, by editing the Gcode after posting. I tried the same thing with the RhinoCAM Gcode, however, but the machine just skipped right over the pause and dove into my finishing pass using the roughing tool (ACK!).

If anyone has any solutions, I’m all ears.
Thanks so much!

Hi Benjamin -

Just to be sure, for RhinoCAM support, please visit https://mecsoft.com/customer-support/
-wim

Thanks Wim!
I forgot you can just email them a support request.
For some reason I find their forum a pain in the neck.
I’ll see what they say.
Thanks again!

1 Like

Hi Benjamin,

To place an M0 (or whatever your particular M code is) for a stop, use the Machine Controls. Set it up in the post generator. Something like this:

Then in the Mops, just place the machine control where you want the machine to stop. You find those here:

Once it shows up in the Mop, you can place it where you want and even rename it for clarity:

Then simply include it when you post.

But if you want to have a stop between every tool, then I would place the appropriate code in the tool change section of the post generator.

The top section defines the code for the first tool load, so if you don’t have an ATC you might want to put your M0 (or whatever) here.