Constant pitch along an extruded path?

I’m a student studying landscape architecture and a brand new Rhino user, so apologies in advance if this is a basic question.

I am trying to create a curved ramp that must have a constant slope (3.2857%). I was able to create an extruded solid that has the correct width and shape of the ramp, but I am unable to figure out how to cut this so that I have a downward sloping ramp.

(In doing research on the internet, it looks as though people using Rhino for Windows can do this via grasshopper, but I don’t own a windows machine so any other options /suggestions would be really (really) helpful.

Thank you!

dj

ps- I’m attaching a screen shot of what i’ve done in case it helps

Hi DJ- so you’d like the top face of this to have the constant slope, correct? As if it were a path or something?

-Pascal

Yes, exactly; it’s supposed to a path (ramp).

(I think wire cut might be the correct tool, but I can’t figure out how to make the correct plane…)

If you do the following on each of the two vertical walls:

• UnrollSrf,
  • draw the line with the correct slope on the plane,
  • CreateUVCrv of the plane,
  • select the output of the last command and the line that you drew,
  • ApplyCrv these back to the original surface.

Trim the original surface with the new slope curve and when you’ve done that, make the top surface with, e.g. EdgeSrf.

Does that seem right? I am not sure what would be a good way to check the accuracy of this…

Also, the top surface will not necessarily be 100% flat across a section. If that is a requirement, you could try applying the workflow to a center surface.

1 Like

I am so sorry (and feeling very stupid), but I tried your suggestion and (numerous others) and I can’t get anything even remotely close to a curved ramp.

1.) I am attaching a print screen of what happens with various options for unroll srf.