Confirmation of file actions when a Rhino file is saved (v5)

rhino5
unhandled
autosave

#1

I was looking to get some confirmation on how Rhino handles a file save/close.
We have users operating on a versioning capable platform, however after they have worked with the file and saved a Rhino model through various renditions, only one version exists.
If I open and save an excel file, I will have multiple version of the file available through the platform.

My suspicion is that when a save is executed (or the program is closed) Rhino REMOVES the .3dm that the file was opened from and renames the .3dmbak file to a .3dm file. Doing this causes the versioning software to treat the newly ‘renamed’ file as a new file, and not another version of the previous .3dm file.

Can anyone confirm this is what happens?
Thanks!