Component Display

Hi all,using Vector Display or Line Dimension via ghpythonlib is it not possible to view the result?

it is not even possible to display a text via ghpythonlib?

would it be feasible with the use of Rhinocommon?

You can pipe into DrawViewportWires in GHPython SDK mode and draw all sorts of fancy things. Here’s a quick example emulating the standard Vector Display Ex component:

220607_DrawLineArrow_00.gh (5.0 KB)

For drawing dimensions you probably want to have a look at the DrawAnnotation method.

3 Likes

Hi @AndersDeleuran thanks for the reply,

these programming methods i just can’t put them in my head they are really complicated. now i try to add annotation method as you advised me and i will let you know, i hope to succeed :+1:

ad

ps this is my first time using python in this mode

1 Like

ad2

sorry @AndersDeleuran I tried with these final 2 lines but apparently in both cases nothing comes back.

Line Dimension

ps I don’t know if the DrawAnnotation method is the same as Line Dimension in Gh.
if it is not the same thing, it would be enough for me to insert a text in the center of the line,
in practice the intent is to display the text of the length of the line in the center of the same.

Yes it’s a wee bit more involved than that. You need to first create e.g. a LinearDimension object, and then pass that as the first argument of the DrawAnnotation method. Here’s a quick example:

220608_DrawLinearDimension_00.gh (3.4 KB)

thank you very much @AndersDeleuran
wauuu I would never get there, too many parameters.

sorry if I add something else,
still using Draw what would be the syntax if I wanted to add only a text aligned to the center of the line?

I had already done some research before but unfortunately I cannot find the right solution,
and even if I try to change the codes I have found that this type of programming is very hard.

@AndersDeleuran