Complex Surface into a Solid

Hi there, I am extremely new to Rhino, and also with using surfacing.
I have managed to draw up this kayak, but I desperately need to convert it to a solid with a thickness of 6 mm.
the outside needs to stay exactly as it is, only the inside needs to change.

i was able to join it all.

I am in panic mode now, because my project is due in a few days :fearful:Kayak joined.stp (16.3 MB)

There are so many naked edges to be repaired (the pink edges). Fixing this model will be a time consuming. Start with fixing the centerline of the hull. Getting the main surface bodies tangency average matched and joined.

You will need a good solid modeler to shell this form. Once you get into a valid closed polysurface.

I have joined the edges as best as i can now, and still nothing :frowning:
i have also tried to offset it.
and move the file to inventor to stitch the edges.
Kayak joined.3dm (13.8 MB)

KAYAK .3dm (4.3 MB)

okay, i have made some changes.
but i still cannot get this into a solid.

for the record i usually use autoCad 2D and solid edge(solids only)
learning to use surfacing was a complete mind set change.
i love Rhino now, but i am struggling.

This project is Due wednesday, i still have to do the following:

• Run tests on Orca (i have no clue how to use Orca)
  • Assemble all the parts
  • print all drawings and hydrostatics, which i hope orca can give me

Have another look at it… Explode the block instance and use the _ShowEdges command again.

My suggestion would be, If you’re working within Rhino… Stick with Rhino. If you’re trying to solve the problem in Inventor, stick to Inventor. Fixing a problem in one package doesn’t always mean it will translate to another package without error. As an example, some filleting in Fusion 360 works well but when exported to Rhino it has errors.

Solve one side (half) of the kayak and then split and mirror it to save time. Try matching the surfaces and stitching it together.