Closed Polysurfaces Losing Surface Curvature When Using Boolean Commands

I am fairly new to Rhino and I keep running into problems when I am using boolean commands. I am creating a digital replica of my chipboard topography that I can use in my 3d renderings. It is not that complex. I start by making my topography lines on the C-Plane using the CONTROL POINT CURVE tool. then I move each closed curve vertically up or down to be at the correct height. Next, I have done a few different things to see if it fixes the problem.

1. I use the EXTRUDECRV command to extrude each curve 1’ then I CAP each open polysurface

2. I use the COPY command to copy each closed curve vertically 1’ then I USE the LOFT command to create a open polysurface which I CAP

3. I use the PLANARSRF command to turn each closed curve into a closed surface. Next I use the EXTRUDESRF to extrude the surfaces 1’.

All of these steps have still had the same problem occur at some point when using boolean options.[SEE BELOW]. Its hard to replicate the issue so its even harder for me to pinpoint. Basically, my vertical surfaces do this randomly after some boolean operations. They are fairly simple operations and this happens at random places that don’t even seem like they should be affected by a Boolean operation. Its almost as if the surface doesn’t recognize the control point curvature and instead creates a curve from the points of the curve. But it also stops being vertical in nature as well so I am at a complete loss.

The only way I have been able to rectify this is to use the REBUILD command and change the amount of control points on my OPEN PLANARSRF after using the LOFT command and changing it to a ridiculously high amount. But as you can imagine this creates quite a bit of trouble with my computers ability to process anything quickly and there is a lot of lag when changing my views, panning, etc.

If anyone can help me I would greatly appreciate it.