Cam path issues

Hello there. I am a high school student whose experience with CAD in general was limited before I got into Rhino, but I am impressed by how easy to use and learn this software is. I’ve been messing around with it for about six months and am ready to partake in my first ‘serious’ project using it, however, I have hit a quite large dead end.
You see, I do not know how to create a cam path for a cam pin on this device I am designing. As shown in the picture attached, I have where the pin starts, where it first begins to rise, and where it should end; the end result of this should be that the outer piece is pulled back via merely the upward movement of the cam pin.
I do not know how to create the path of the cam pin in a simple and straightforward way, and have been spending the last few hours quite boggled. Any help is dearly appreciated.

Hello - can you post what you have? I guess the path is more or less ‘s’ shaped, correct?

-Pascal

‘up-pull’.3dm (272.4 KB)
More like a straight line, although it’s through a curved surface. In the file I added I put a black line visible on the front layer showing what I mean.

Hello - here’s what I’d do I think to get the ramp shape:

• Make copies of the cylinders (ExtractSrf>Copy=Yes) at each end of the travel and Untrim those
  • Make a copy of the outer surface of the thickened cylinder that gets the cut and UntrimAll
  • Set point on that surface at the center of the cylinders.
  • ShortPath on the surface between the two points,
  • Fin (Extrude curve normal) the short path inward
  • OffsetSrf, BothSides, Solid=No the fin surface - these will be the walls of the ramp.
  • Clean up =)

@redmccloud - is this on the right track?

'up-pull _Maybe.3dm (65.8 KB)

-Pascal

1 Like