C# variables vs fields, output keeps growing at each iterations

Hey !

I’m forcing myself to C# but I’m a fairly decent noob, beware !

I’d like to do something like this:

private void RunScript(List<int> x, ref object A)
  {
    for(int i = 0; i < x.Count - 1 ; i++){
      if (Math.Abs(x[i] - x[i + 1]) < 2){
        b++;
      }
      else{
        A.Add(b);  
      }
    }
  }

// <Custom additional code> 
  int b = 1;
  // </Custom additional code> 
}

But A isn’t of type List… So component screams that I cannot use “Add” on type “object” (fair enough).
So I tried to use an intermediate B list and assign it to A later… :

{
    for(int i = 0; i < x.Count - 1 ; i++){
      if (Math.Abs(x[i] - x[i + 1]) < 2){
        b++;
      }
      else{
        B.Add(b);  
      }
    }
    A = B;
  }

List<int> B = new List<int>();
  int b = 1;
  // </Custom additional code> 
}

Terrible idea !
Everytime I recompute Grasshopper, the output A of the c# component keeps growing (the list basically duplicates itself at each recompute).

I feel like I’m not getting the “ref object A” correctly, but it seems I can’t figure this out… Anyone spotted the problem?

Cheers,

Anything between “Custom additional code” is preserved during the entire solution (like “sticky” in Python). You need to declare B inside RunScript as a local variable.

Oops
Therefore I also need b in RunScript in this case !

Thank you very much for the quick answer and description ! :slight_smile:

See attached (and for the shake of it … add … er … things)

Lists_Numbers_V1.gh (9.9 KB)

Thanks for the example, learned couple of things !

Ended up like this

{
    List<int> B = new List<int>();
    DoSomething(x, B);

A = B;
  }

public List<int> DoSomething(List<int> aList,List<int> newList){
    // Find rich girl ASAP

int counter = 1;
    for(int i = 1; i < aList.Count ; i++){
      if (Math.Abs(aList[i - 1] - aList[i]) < 2) counter++;
      else{
        newList.Add(counter);
        counter = 1;
      }