Buying a New Computer

Hello! I am currently looking for a new desktop computer that will support Rhino. I am currently looking at Dell Alienware AURORA RYZEN™ EDITION R14 GAMING DESKTOP.

This is my first time buying a computer with these types of capabilities and am getting very confused and just want to make sure it will run rhino, revit, enscape, etc.

The specifications I have chosen thus far are:
Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5900 (70 MB total cache, 12 cores, 24 threads, up to 4.70 GHz Max Boost CLock)

Graphics Card:
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080, 10 GB GDDR6X, LHR

Memory:
3200MHZ
32 GB, 2 x 16 GB, DDR4, 3200 MHz XMP

If anyone is able to give me some guidance on whether these specification would work well or if I should change anything.

Thank you!

I have no experience with the AMD Ryzen processors, but I would guess that would be a pretty fast system.

I have a new Alienware x14 with the i7 and the RTX 3050Ti.
Works very well for my moderate needs.
It was only $2,000

You’ll pay a huge premium for an Alienware, but those specs are more than enough to run Rhino - might even be overkill depending on how much rendering you do, or how big/dense your files are. Here’s a similar machine I built for myself for Rhino:

https://pcpartpicker.com/b/mvL2FT

Fwiw - the price on that video card has come down by about $450 since I put that system together - it’s also go 2x the RAM and a 5950X instead of a 5900. If you’ve ever thought about building your own system, I can tell you it’s a total blast, not that hard and will save you lots of money.

I’m currently on a Ryzen 5800X and it works good. Nothing to say.
(Due it being a single 8core “packed” it actually have temps higher than a 5900X, which is a double 6-core inside…)

What will you use it for?
On a 12-core processor, if you don’t plant to do some rendering, most of the cores will sit and sleep most of the time.