Bug: Memory leak in GH Preview component

I just discovered a memory leak in the GH component Preview.

To reproduce: Reference a dense mesh in Rhino from GH (internalized or ref does the same nasty thing), set Rhino viewport to Rendered, then rotate the (perspective) view, and watch memory taking off.

debug_preview.gh (801.6 KB)
debug_preview.gh.3dm (4.4 MB)

* Version 6.22.20007.3471, 01/07/2020, Commercial.
* I downloaded the new NVidia drivers for GTX1080Ti, but the problem is still there.
* I also tried with the latest WIP, but I couldn’t see the same problem there.

It almost made me crazy before I found out why memory blew up.

// Rolf

Rhino 6 SR22 2020-1-7 (Rhino 6, 6.22.20007.03471, Git hash:master @ 3ddad6fcbd3c07d35c85473909778145fbea6d07)
License type: Commercial, build 2020-01-07
License details: Cloud Zoo. In use by: Rolf Lampa ()

Windows 10.0 SR0.0 or greater (Physical RAM: 32Gb)
Machine name: RIPW

Non-hybrid graphics.
Primary display and OpenGL: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti (NVidia) Memory: 11GB, Driver date: 12-24-2019 (M-D-Y). OpenGL Ver: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 441.87

OpenGL Settings
Safe mode: Off
Use accelerated hardware modes: On
Redraw scene when viewports are exposed: On

Anti-alias mode: 8x
Mip Map Filtering: Linear
Anisotropic Filtering Mode: Height

Vendor Name: NVIDIA Corporation
Render version: 4.6
Shading Language: 4.60 NVIDIA
Driver Date: 12-24-2019
Driver Version: 26.21.14.4187
Maximum Texture size: 32768 x 32768
Z-Buffer depth: 24 bits
Maximum Viewport size: 32768 x 32768
Total Video Memory: 11 GB

Rhino plugins
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\Commands.rhp “Commands” 6.22.20007.3471
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\rdk.rhp “Renderer Development Kit”
C:\Program Files\Bongo 3.0 (64-bit)\Rhino6\Bongo.20.rhp “Bongo 2.0”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\RhinoRender.rhp “Rhino Render”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\rdk_etoui.rhp “RDK_EtoUI” 6.22.20007.3471
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\rdk_ui.rhp “Renderer Development Kit UI”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\NamedSnapshots.rhp “Snapshots”
C:\Program Files\Common Files\McNeel\Rhinoceros\6.0\Plug-ins\XNurbs (80be33b0-13b2-4ac4-9c77-03829214f9e9)\2.1.0.0\XNurbsRhino.rhp “XNurbs”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\IronPython\RhinoDLR_Python.rhp “IronPython” 6.22.20007.3471
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\RhinoCycles.rhp “RhinoCycles” 6.22.20007.3471
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\Grasshopper\GrasshopperPlugin.rhp “Grasshopper” 6.22.20007.3471
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\Toolbars\Toolbars.rhp “Toolbars” 6.22.20007.3471
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\3dxrhino.rhp “3Dconnexion 3D Mouse”
C:\Program Files\Bongo 3.0 (64-bit)\BongoUI.20.v60.rhp “BongoUI20v60”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\Displacement.rhp “Displacement”

1 Like

This memory leak is bombing my computer memory several times a day. Kaboom, and Rhino goes away, warning about system memory and suggest I restart my computer, before it disappears.

That’s not polite. And it is in fact a serious bug.

I can’t debug much of my work without a properly working Custom Preview component. @pascal or @stevebaer, please poke the right man to fix this fatal bug. Or if it takes a woman, so be it. Please.

// Rolf

Or if it takes a woman, so be it

I agree you are seriously affected by this, but I would like to kindly ask you to keep the conversation inclusive. Which is as easy as “please poke the right person to fix this fatal bug”.

4 Likes

If a man can’t fix it, a woman probably can.

No, I’m not into the PC “inclusive” business.

// Rolf

1 Like