Bug: Memory leak in GH Preview component

I just discovered a memory leak in the GH component Preview.

To reproduce: Reference a dense mesh in Rhino from GH (internalized or ref does the same nasty thing), set Rhino viewport to Rendered, then rotate the (perspective) view, and watch memory taking off.

debug_preview.gh (801.6 KB)
debug_preview.gh.3dm (4.4 MB)

* Version 6.22.20007.3471, 01/07/2020, Commercial.
* I downloaded the new NVidia drivers for GTX1080Ti, but the problem is still there.
* I also tried with the latest WIP, but I couldn’t see the same problem there.

It almost made me crazy before I found out why memory blew up.

// Rolf

Rhino 6 SR22 2020-1-7 (Rhino 6, 6.22.20007.03471, Git hash:master @ 3ddad6fcbd3c07d35c85473909778145fbea6d07)
License type: Commercial, build 2020-01-07
License details: Cloud Zoo. In use by: Rolf Lampa ()

Windows 10.0 SR0.0 or greater (Physical RAM: 32Gb)
Machine name: RIPW

Non-hybrid graphics.
Primary display and OpenGL: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti (NVidia) Memory: 11GB, Driver date: 12-24-2019 (M-D-Y). OpenGL Ver: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 441.87

OpenGL Settings
Safe mode: Off
Use accelerated hardware modes: On
Redraw scene when viewports are exposed: On

Anti-alias mode: 8x
Mip Map Filtering: Linear
Anisotropic Filtering Mode: Height

Vendor Name: NVIDIA Corporation
Render version: 4.6
Shading Language: 4.60 NVIDIA
Driver Date: 12-24-2019
Driver Version: 26.21.14.4187
Maximum Texture size: 32768 x 32768
Z-Buffer depth: 24 bits
Maximum Viewport size: 32768 x 32768
Total Video Memory: 11 GB

Rhino plugins
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\Commands.rhp “Commands” 6.22.20007.3471
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\rdk.rhp “Renderer Development Kit”
C:\Program Files\Bongo 3.0 (64-bit)\Rhino6\Bongo.20.rhp “Bongo 2.0”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\RhinoRender.rhp “Rhino Render”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\rdk_etoui.rhp “RDK_EtoUI” 6.22.20007.3471
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\rdk_ui.rhp “Renderer Development Kit UI”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\NamedSnapshots.rhp “Snapshots”
C:\Program Files\Common Files\McNeel\Rhinoceros\6.0\Plug-ins\XNurbs (80be33b0-13b2-4ac4-9c77-03829214f9e9)\2.1.0.0\XNurbsRhino.rhp “XNurbs”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\IronPython\RhinoDLR_Python.rhp “IronPython” 6.22.20007.3471
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\RhinoCycles.rhp “RhinoCycles” 6.22.20007.3471
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\Grasshopper\GrasshopperPlugin.rhp “Grasshopper” 6.22.20007.3471
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\Toolbars\Toolbars.rhp “Toolbars” 6.22.20007.3471
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\3dxrhino.rhp “3Dconnexion 3D Mouse”
C:\Program Files\Bongo 3.0 (64-bit)\BongoUI.20.v60.rhp “BongoUI20v60”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\Displacement.rhp “Displacement”

1 Like

This memory leak is bombing my computer memory several times a day. Kaboom, and Rhino goes away, warning about system memory and suggest I restart my computer, before it disappears.

That’s not polite. And it is in fact a serious bug.

I can’t debug much of my work without a properly working Custom Preview component. @pascal or @stevebaer, please poke the right man to fix this fatal bug. Or if it takes a woman, so be it. Please.

// Rolf

Or if it takes a woman, so be it

I agree you are seriously affected by this, but I would like to kindly ask you to keep the conversation inclusive. Which is as easy as “please poke the right person to fix this fatal bug”.

4 Likes

If a man can’t fix it, a woman probably can.

No, I’m not into the PC “inclusive” business.

// Rolf

2 Likes

Back on the issue itself:

I have also experienced the memory leak issue.

McNeel: I’ve identified the issue and recreated it in the attached (extremely simple) rhino file and gh script. Please follow the instructions in the file and recreate it on your end. We’ve been having issues with our computers running out of memory extremely quickly when you follow the directions in the file.
GH_Memory Issue_Custom Preview.3dm (426.0 KB) GH_Memory Issue_Custom Preview.gh (10.1 KB)

Thanks

1 Like