BlockManager preview issue and text field display issue

Hi,

I am running Rhino 6 SR29 on Windows 10 on a DELL XPS 17 (August 2020).
I apologize if I brought together unrelated issues, but I suspect they might share the same cause (although it’s just a hunch). The first one regards the BlockManager window and Block preview:

As you can see from the picture above, the block preview (bottom right) is not centered on the block itself (you can spot it lurking from the corner), plus there are those harmless yet weird lines appearing when I resize the window.

The other issue is the size of thext in the Gumball input field:
2020-09-23 16_47_37-In class.3dm (1 MB) - Rhino 6 Educational - Module 1 - slab - 2

I thought this last one had to do with text zoom in the Windows display settings, but changing the zoom factor there does not affect the text display relative to the Gumball input field size.

I also tried searching the forum before posting this, without any luck.

Although these are not vital problems, they get pretty annoying in the long run… hope someone can help!

Thank you in advance!

Alessio

Hi Alessio - can you please run SystemInfo in Rhino and post the results?

-Pascal

Sure! Here it is:

Rhino 6 SR29 2020-8-25 (Rhino 6, 6.29.20238.11501, Git hash:master @ 06b936ae4e8c289ecccfd6b5ee9bacccc60eded1)
License type: Educational, build 2020-08-25
License details: Cloud Zoo. In use by: Alessio Erioli ()

Windows 10.0 SR0.0 or greater (Physical RAM: 32Gb)
Machine name: ALE2X72-XPS

Hybrid graphics system.
Primary display: Intel® UHD Graphics (Intel) Memory: 1GB, Driver date: 5-19-2020 (M-D-Y).
Primary OpenGL: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 with Max-Q Design (NVidia) Memory: 6GB, Driver date: 7-13-2020 (M-D-Y). OpenGL Ver: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 451.77

OpenGL Settings
Safe mode: Off
Use accelerated hardware modes: On
Redraw scene when viewports are exposed: On

Anti-alias mode: 4x
Mip Map Filtering: Linear
Anisotropic Filtering Mode: Height

Vendor Name: NVIDIA Corporation
Render version: 4.6
Shading Language: 4.60 NVIDIA
Driver Date: 7-13-2020
Driver Version: 27.21.14.5177
Maximum Texture size: 32768 x 32768
Z-Buffer depth: 24 bits
Maximum Viewport size: 32768 x 32768
Total Video Memory: 6 GB

Rhino plugins
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\Commands.rhp “Commands” 6.29.20238.11501
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\rdk.rhp “Renderer Development Kit”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\RhinoRender.rhp “Rhino Render”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\rdk_etoui.rhp “RDK_EtoUI” 6.29.20238.11501
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\rdk_ui.rhp “Renderer Development Kit UI”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\NamedSnapshots.rhp “Snapshots”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\RhinoCycles.rhp “RhinoCycles” 6.29.20238.11501
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\Toolbars\Toolbars.rhp “Toolbars” 6.29.20238.11501
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\3dxrhino.rhp “3Dconnexion 3D Mouse”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 6\Plug-ins\Displacement.rhp “Displacement”

Thanks - that looks perfectly reasonable to me… Is the monitor the one on the laptop or an external one, or multiple? What is the screen resolution and how is windows handling the scaling (e.g. “150% (recommended)”) etc.

Since Windows was recently updated, it might not be a bad thing to reinstall the latest drivers for your card, too.

-Pascal

I have a dual monitor configuration, primary is 3840x2400 at the recommended text scale of 250%, and the other is an ultrawide monitor 3440 x 1440, text scale is 125% (with a recommended of 100%). But the problems persist no matter the monitor, no matter the text scale. I’ll try to update the Graphic Card drivers and see if that improves the situation. Thank you for your help so far!

Hi Alessio - it may also make a difference which monitor Windows thinks of as ‘Primary’.

-Pascal

I tried switching the primary monitor to the ultrawide and things improve a bit (Gumball input field now shows the text in its full height - BlockManager shows a lot more of the block, but not yet as it should). However this is not ideal for me: I don’t want the ultrawide to be the primary, plus all Rhino toolbars get resized (not the buttons, just the toolbars, generating a lot of interface empty space), and the gumball gizmo becomes huge.

PS: just checked ad apparently I am running the latest drivers for the graphic card.