Applying color to and manipulating cube location

Hi!

I’m quite new to Grasshopper; what I thought would be a relatively easy exercise has become quite hard. What I set out to achieve was…

• Take values from Excel in a format of ‘1,2,3,4,5’ etc. which represents different colored ‘cubes’

• I then wanted to overlay the output number by color, for example; 1 Green Cube, 2 Yellow Cubes, 3 Red Cubes etc. (the colors are representative of different program requirements)

• What I really wanted to achieve after this however was to take the selection of cubes (of different colors) and randomize them based on how a slider was changed

I have attached my trial Grasshopper photos below. Because I am not great at the program I made a video to hopefully explain the idea better.

I was hoping to figure out if the idea is possible; How to color cubes based on values from excel, and how to manipulate the color set, and what approaches I might take to begin.

Thank you very much!

Grasshopper Script Main.gh (18.9 KB)

1 Like

Hi bthendo,

When I look at the file you uploaded, it seems that you are trying to partition the architectural space based on the data(zoning).

In the video that you uploaded, the modules of the same type are attached to some extent. So I assume that you don’t want to arrange various modules based on perfect randomness.

Therefore, I placed modules along with the boundary of the whole space so that the same type could be attached as much as possible. Then, I shuffled modules to be random. Please refer to the file for further details.

As I wrote in the GH file, this algorithm works only when all modules are connected. (One building & One floor)

And you should install “TT Toolbox” before loading this GH file.

Lastly, after loading, you should update the directory of the Excel file and click “Excel Link Toggle” two times to connect the Excel file and the GH file.

If there is more question or errors in the algorithm, please let me know.