Advice on modelling a continious surface cocoon

Hi Everyone,

I’m relatively new to Rhino and I’m looking for some advice on moddeling the following shape as intuitively as possible: I want to model a sort of cocoon which consists out of one continious surface that folds in different directions to form the walls, floors and ceilings of the pod. See the image (however the 2d section doesnt show its complexity consisting out of one continious surface). So far I’ve tried to model it by using Subd but hopefully somebody has some advice for me!

Cheers and thanks in advance!

I’d recommend you spend a little time going through general modeling tutorials so you learn about NURBS surface structure and how it relates to shapes.

Then you’ll be able to ask more specific questions people can help with.

Cheers

Hi @a.h.brouwer,

Welcome to the forum. If you are going to model this in Rhino (and I’m not at all sure Rhino is the best tool for the job) then SubD is certainly the way to go.

I wouldn’t try to model the complete cocoon as a single object. I’d treat each inner space as a “room” and model it as a closed SubD object, then place the rooms adjacent to one another, remove faces where they open out together and use bridge to join them. This approach will eventually lead to a complete inner surface of the cocoon.

Then remove faces where you have openings to the outside and extrude the edges outwards and start to build an outer surface from there (or alternatively build a complete outer surface in the same way as the rooms and delete opening faces and bridge inner and outer).

This seems to me a very ambitious project for someone new to Rhino and SubD. I’d go look at the YouTube videos on Rhino SubD modelling by @theoutside. One of the big lessons there is that he spends most of his time remodelling and adjusting to get things right. Be prepared to get frustrated, but persevere and you will get there!

Good luck
Jeremy

3 Likes