Add detail in Layout only adds wireframe view

To make a useful drawing of a mechanical part, wireframe view is useless! Too many lines that make no sense in 2d.
But when I add detail, no matter what view is showing in a viewport (shaded, technical, etc) all that shows up in the detail is wireframe! THIS IS USELESS!
I at least need hidden lines to be dotted! But the geometry lines that show up in solids in wireframe are not acceptable in a drawing.
Is there any way to fix this?

People have been using Rhino successfully for several decades. Perhaps the problem is less with Rhino and more to do with your lack of familiarity with the program and your reluctance to prepare yourself to use it by perusing the tutorials and help that comes with the program.

2 Likes

@mrosenfield
You REALLY need to take the time to go through some Drafting tutorials.
We’ve linked them in other replies.

I have been using CAD for 40 years, so I’m familiar with the processes. I have been following the tutorials, and spent most of yesterday doing so, and trying different approaches.
So if you can point me to what I’m doing wrong, I’d be most grateful!

Michael Rosenfield

RSR Engineering, LLC

2420 E Hermosa Vista Dr.

Mesa, AZ 85213

480-861-6456

www.rsr-engineering.com

RSR Eng Logo small

Then my best recommendation for you is to leverage that experience, and skim through the User’s Guide to see how we do these similar tasks in Rhino.
When you find something odd or new, maybe do that tutorial.

The User’s Guide is the only free, self-paced, progressive set of general tutorials I’m aware of.
http://docs.mcneel.com/rhino/6/usersguide/en-us/index.htm

Cheers

I dug deeper into the drafting tutorial, and now I see where I was not thinking the way Rhino thinks.
I’m learning…

Thanks, John!

You’re very welcome.
Have fun with it.

1 Like

John,

I am trying to create a drawing of a cross-section of my part - a steel bar with a hole in it.