About technical product design in Rhino vs zBrush vs Autodesk Inventor

I wanted to ask about the relative strengths and weaknesses of doing technical product design (e.g. for an electric appliance) in Rhino vs zBrush vs Autodesk Inventor.

Understandably there probably are not a lot of people with experience in all three of these. I have very little experience in any of them but wanted to have an idea of what possible drawbacks there could be in choosing one over another.

For example I heard that one of the strengths of Rhino is the accuracy but a weakness might be that making changes later might be more complicated because of it being a NURBS based tool. Is this correct?

Never used zbrush or inventor, but did use autocad and versacad. Rhino is far easier to use, accuracy unsurpassed, revision straightforward,

Well the three products are for completely different things, aimed at totally different markets, they’re not really relevant to compare. Inventor is for Mechanical Design(i.e. making an engine,) Zbrush is for extremely organic modeling(i.e. character modeling,) and Rhino is for…well anything else.

1 Like

yea…although zBrush seems to be positioning themselves for work like Automotive Design and Autodesk does not seem to think that Inventor is solely for mechanical design work but also for things like product cases, looking at their use case examples.

Anyway I was not looking for a direct comparison between them but more like some information on the respective strengths and weaknesses. Sort of like what would cause a person to choose one over another.

Mesh models cannot be used to make tooling, therefore ZBrush is unsuitable. Athough technically CNC machines could be programmed from a mesh model, the majority of CAM systems require nurbs.

I should add that its possible to convert a mesh to nurbs, but it complicates the process. T-Splines has been used to do this, but there are other options now.