Very clean mesh but very highpoly - mesh outline not working on some angles

Hi I’m very new to Rhino, I’m trying to import a model from Lightwave3D which is very high poly. I use obj. format for the interchange and when I have the mesh in Rhino I do a repair mesh and I get told I have a nice and clean model so no issues there. I want to extract the outline of my mesh as seen down from the top view. So I use the mesh outline command and it only works when run it from the right or back orthographic views and also seems to give me predictable results when I run it from many angles in perspective view. But when I try to do it from the top or bottom view I get nothing… not even an error message. So the only explanation I could come up with is that it’s too much information (too highpoly/to dense model) for the mesh outline command to work with. From the Top or bottom view there is a higher amount of the polygons visable than from the side views. Does this sound like a logical conclusion to you guys ?

PS. I’ve tried to run the Reduce Mesh command and shaved off 50% of the polygons, and after that I can run the mesh outline command from the top view and everything works. But if it’s possible I’d like to be able to keep the outline as accurate to the original mesh as possible. So if you can think of a workaround I’d love to hear it :slight_smile:

Regards,
Árni Berúlfur

This is really impossible to say without the file. You will have to either post it here or send it to tech support.

Yes… that’s a good point :smile:

Here’s the file I’m importing… I pretty sure I’m not doing anything wrong at the import dialog, but who knows.