Rhino vs. Solidworks compare/contrast

I haven’t used Rhino, but I’ve got some experience with SolidWorks. How do the two compare? Similarities/differences? User friendly?
I want to use it to build hollow models. Advice? Opinions?

The two complement each other quite well in an industrial design practice, but some projects are definitively easier to get done in one over the other.
Can you show an image of the kind of project you want to do?

2 Likes

If you are a designer, Rhino is the best way to go. The software allows you to create beautiful flowing surfaces (and mechanical, hard edges are even easier) and then EASILY change or experiment.

SolidWORKS is better for manufacturing and engineering. If the design is already done, then its linear (some call it ‘anal’) workflow is great for getting to a finished model. Using parametrics (‘history-based’) every dimension is input at every step of the way. This definitely helps when a change is needed after the model is completed, but many designers like to experiment with alternatives and build ‘test geometry’ to see how it looks … which is not easy or what SolidWORKS was designed to do.

The best answer to this hot-button question was given to me by a friend who did the following:

• Use Rhino to design, experiment, and make it beautiful with world-class rendering engines like V-Ray.
  • Then, bring the geometry into SolidWORKS for any shelling, bosses, or structural stuff.

Here’s a cute little penguin I did with Rhino. As far as I can tell, this shape is close to impossible with SolidWORKS.

3 Likes

The ideas are for model kit designs (no images yet) with some curves, some hard angles, shells that will fit together and some moving parts.

I like the penguin. Would you be able to take him from this point and create a multiple-part shell for manufacturing if you wanted to?

Will you work alone or within a team?
A handful of products or hundreds.