Problem with the pipe tool & boolean when joining curves?

Hello Im new to Rhino (and designing in general), I’m wondering if this could be a bug or if anybody else is having this problem that I keep running into.

I have a curve that when i use the pipe tool on looks good.
Then when I take that same curve and join it with other other curves the pipe tool doesn’t seem to work on that same section that it previously worked? So then I tried to take the pipe as a poly and boolean union with the other section of pipe. and the boolean function wont work.

Please post your curves so that someone can take a closer look.

Here are some images I’ll upload the file shortly.

As you can see from the photos the curve works fine alone but when added to the rest of the model the pipe tool malfunctions. stand.3dm (43.4 KB)

Hi Mark- one thing is,not all of the curve segments are tangent where it looks like they are intended to be - I’d check that first -the arcs joining the squiggly bits to the straights should be tangent to the curves on either end. However there is a problem in Pipe that shows up on very convoluted curves where the direction flips back and forth - this looks especially bad in your example for some reason - I’ll poke at it some more, but you may need to do this in sections and join the pipes together.

stand_PG.3dm (262.9 KB)

This was done in pieces - the squiggly curves were cleaned up to be tangent and surfaced using Sweep1, with Roadlike Front as the style. The other bits were OK with Pipe.

1 Like

Thanks Pascal,