Plugin Development - OpenGL / Shader use

Hi there,

My company are considering development of a plugin for Rhino that would place new geometry in the Rhino Viewport and merge it with existing models. It would do this using OpenGL shaders and before we start on this project I wanted to ask the community a couple of quick questions to make sure what we want to achieve is viable. So here goes…

1. Are there any issues with adding an OpenGL shader to the already existing OpenGL viewport instance?
  2. Can the DepthBuffer and ColourBuffer information be readily accessed using the SDK, in order that any rendering via the new shader can take this into account?
  3. Are there likely to be any issues with a high rate of change with the new shader, as it will likely be operating at 60fps most of the time.

I am not a programmer myself, so please forgive me if my terminology is a bit off, but I am trying to scope this on behalf of my company.

Thanks,

Dave

@jeff, can you chime in here?

Hi Dave,

I’ll try to address each of your questions in order…But knowing more about exactly what it is you plan to do would allow us to (most likely) provide more detailed answers.

1. You actually don’t just “add” a shader to a viewport. Shaders are enabled and disabled accordingly at a specified time for a specified object. If there are no specific objects associated with the shader (i.e. it produces its own geometry), then placement of your code within Rhino’s pipeline will be important, but should be doable using Rhino’s display pipeline conduit mechanisms.