How to apply materials?

So I have been using Rhino for about 4 years, but I have really only used it for form studies and Grasshopper. Now that my rendering engine of choice (thea render) works natively within Rhino, I might try applying materials right in Rhino. What is the easiest way to apply materials in Rhino. Sketchup makes it really easy to paint things with the paint bucket tool. I’ve worked in sketchup a lot have found that their models look quite nice just having materials applied even before rendering (in the sense that it gives the user a good idea of the material and color composition before rendering). Does Rhino have a display mode that looks more like sketchup?

Hi Lawrence-I’m not sure how Thea is integrated but the most straightforward is probably to use the Material page of the object’s Properties.

-Pascal

So does that mean you have to select each object before you can paint it? What if one face of a polysrf needs to be a different material from all the others?

Do you have an example of a fully textured model I could see? I feel like all the Rhino models I have encountered have focused on form and not materials. Would you see the textures in shaded mode?

In Rhino 5 you need to use ExtractSrf on that surface first. Separate objects equal separate materials. In the next version we are looking at supporting sub-object materials.

Check out https://flyingarchitecture.com/ the 3dm files are usually set up with Vray but they’ll still be helpful I bet if you use another renderer.

Only if you change the Shaded mode settings in Options>Display Modes to use the rendering material.

1 Like

Hi Pascal