How do I create a knurl?

Hi all,

I am new to Rhino and looking to get some help creating a knurl. I have done them on TurboCad for MAC bye creating a rail sweep down a helix such as seen in the attached document. I am not looking to actually draw a full knurl but more just to learn how to cut a shape from a solid to produce handles with various spiral patterns carved down the length.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

No attachment included.

This might help, it’s for Rhino for Windows but I believe all the same commands should work on Mac too.

If you want to place the flat 3D texture on a surface after that, use FlowAlongSrf.

2 Likes

Great tutorial, thank you

Sorry about that attached now!TC7Knurl (1).pdf (2.0 MB)

Thanks that’s a great video! Some good things I now want to try out but not exactly the thing I was hoping to do. Im looking to do one single knurl like cut which spirals down a tapering shaft sort of like a screw thread. Im wondering if there is a similar procedure as seen in the attached TurboCAD tutorial?

I remember someone posting a script for doing this but I cannot find it now.
I’m not sure if it was in pyton so that it would run on Mac as well. I’ll dig some more…

I’d follow the same principal.

• Draw a circle 100mm diam
  • extrude a cylinder 100mm
  • Helix - 1 rotation - 100 pitch
  • Pipe the helix curve at 1mm with rounded ends
  • Polar array from the centre of the circle
  • Boolean subtract pipes from the cylinder

I guess the other way would be to use panelling tools to do this, which would be quicker.

• Set points on the cylinder so that they are equidistant/square
  • offset the points by the height you want the knurl detail
  • create a texture, make sure it’s square
  • Panelcutom3D

I’ve only done it quickly but you could offset the texture or many other ways by rotating and copying, arraying.

Knurl.zip (5.5 MB)

Cheers

Andy