Help with Video Card, Geforce GTX vs. Quadro

Hey everyone, I am building my first PC and i could definitely use some help selecting a video card. The computer will be used solely for Rhino, Grasshopper, and either Flamingo or Brazil. I dont want to break the bank so i was going to get a Geforce GTX 970 , but from everything im reading people say to go with a Quadro k2000 instead. Can anyone help me out here? Again i am new to all this so any information, recommendations, or opinions would be awesome. Thanks!

I wish I had your bank. go with the 970!

Go here:
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html

I know the GTX 970 is really good for gaming, how does this translate to rhino and grasshopper use? Will it be worse than other cards? Better? i guess i don’t understand how gaming and rhino/grasshopper use are related

I’m using the Quadro 2000K at work & GTX 770 4gb at home, on both using Rhino and some more Rendering Apps,
Both are great.
Quadro is being used mostly for the professional market with apps that specifically demand a Quadro card,
The GTX Cards designed Mostly for the Gaming & 3D apps market & are more variable with the’r uses.
With Rhino I’d stick to the GTX.
Here’s the thread,

G.

Thanks for the post G, you gave me all the answers i was looking for much appreciated! I will be going with the GTX 970

Hey man…
I was about to change my GTX 780M for the QUADRO K3100M… I fact i still waint for the price from the shop where i bought my new CLEVO Machine. Also to do Heavy Architecture Works. But i have to say. Since Nvidia stucked OPEN GL from last GTX 280 / GTX 480 / GTX 580, now if you buy a GTX (Gaming card you will be able to Working but with some minor issues on VIEWPORTS ROTATES, somehow a bit slow,…

GTX are made to achieve FPS in most recently games. And for that i am saying DIRECTX only. GTX are able to read and process OPENCL + OPENGL, but it is not the same as new QUADROS or FIREPROS Cards.