Graphic Designer looking for advice

Hello Rhino community!

I’m new to 3D modeling, but I’m ready to invest a significant amount of time developing this skillset. I’m primarily interested in product design.

My big question is this…Rhino vs. Solidworks + Mac vs. PC (bootcamp) …

I really like that Rhino has a Mac version, but it seems like it’s been in beta for quite some time with not very much hope of an official release this year. Mac based tutorials are sparse, so I’m watching PC based tutorials and hoping I can make it work with the Mac version. Also, it seems like I’m missing some functionality with the mac version.

So I’m debating if I should just use bootcamp and go with the PC version…and if I go that way, should I just use solidworks…Rhino seems fully capable, but solidworks seems to be the standard for the industry. At least with the industrial designers I’ve worked with in the past.

Any and all opinions are appreciated. Thank you for your time.

Well, as a graphic designer (who studied before computers, did I say Letraset & ruling pens?) who got into Rhino because he married a goldsmith, who prefers her pencil, paper & benchwork to computers, I would suggest Rhino + Mac. I also do have an older Mac running Bootcamp for WinRhino + T-Splines + Grasshopper.

I started with WinRhino in 2008, discovered RhinoOSX in July 2008 and finally sold my WinDesktop in 2009 and do 90% of my jewellery work with my Mac.

I looked at a lot of 3d software before sticking with Rhino. I have done display boxes & counter top displays as well as all types of jewellery. So for product design it can all be done with Rhino.

I don’t know Solidworks, though I did play with it on my old Windows machine. It depends on your learning curve.